Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Florida State Statute requires a minimum of 770 hours of curriculum based training. Once training is complete, the cadet is required to successfully pass the State Officer Certification Exam.
Show All Answers
The Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission ensures that agencies are updating the officer training records as required by Florida State Statute. All certified officers must complete 40 hours of training every four years to maintain their certification. This training can be taken at the employing agency, local training school, or any training approved by the agency administrator and must be updated by the employing agency no later than June 30, starting four years after the certification was granted.
There are several mandatory training courses provided to all Miami Gardens Police Officers. Some included are as follows: Cultural Diversity, Ethics, De-Escalation Tactics, Active Shooter / Killer Response, and Crisis Intervention Training.
Yes – The Miami Gardens Police Department’s Training Unit provides selected training to members of the community. One of the most sought after classes is the Civilian Response to an Active Shooter Event class
First, an applicant must take and pass a Basic Abilities Test (BAT) in the discipline for which they want to become certified. Upon passage of the BAT, you must be fingerprinted for purposes of a criminal history background check. Once accepted, the next step is to complete the Basic Recruit Training Program at one of the CJSTC certified training schools. The candidate then must apply for and pass the State Officer Certification Exam for the discipline. Finally, one must gain employment and comply with the requirements of Florida State Statute 943.13, F.S. within four years of the date training was started.