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A. GENERAL INFORMATION ON SPECIAL FEES, REFUNDS,
EXTENSIONS AND CANCELLATIONS

DOUBLE FEES

When work for which a permit is required is commenced prior to obtaining a permit, the
permit applicant will be required to pay the penalty fee, on hundred fifteen dollars ($115.00)
plus 100% of the usual permit fee in addition to the required permit fee established herein.
The payment of the required fee shall not relieve any person, firm, or corporation from fully
complying with all of the applicable regulations and codes, nor shall it relieve them from
being subject to any of the penalties. The double fee requirement shall be applicable to all
sections of the Building Department noted herein.

For the second offense of doing work without a permit, the permit applicant shall be required
to pay twice the penalty fee, two hundred thirty dollars ($230.00) plus a double permit fee.
For each subsequent offense, the permit applicant shall be required to pay five times the
penalty fee, five hundred seventy-five dollars ($575.00) plus a double permit fee.

LOST PLANS FEE

When a permitted set of plans for new buildings, additions, or all other types of projects are

lost by the applicants, owner, contractors, or any other representatives of the projects, a
. recertification fee will be required to review, stamp and approve a new set of plans as a field

copy. Such fee shall be assessed at the cost of reproduction plus $26.30 original building

permit fee.

LOST PERMIT CARD FEE

. After a permit has been issued, if the permit inspection card has been lost, the applicant will
be required to pay a charge of thirty dollars ($30.00).

REFUNDS, TIME LIMITATIONS & CANCELLATIONS
The fees charged pursuant to this schedule, may be refunded by the municipality subject to
the following:

1. No refund shall be made on requests involving:
Permit fees of one hundred dollars $100.00 or less; or
Permits revoked by the Building Official or Director of the Building Department under
authority granted by Florida Building Code, of
Permits cancelled by court order, or
Conditional permits; or
Permits which have expired; or
Permits under which work has commenced as evidenced by any recorded inspection

- having been made by the Building Department; or
When there is a change of contractor.

2. A full refund shall be granted to a permit holder who takes out a permit covering work
outside the jurisdictional inspection area. A full refund less than one hundred dollars
($100.00) or fifty percent (50%) of the permit fee, whichever amount is greater,
rounded down to the nearest dollar shall be granted to a permit holder who requests a
refund, provided:

That the permit holder makes a written request prior to permit expiration date; and

That the applicant's validated copy of the permit be submitted with such a request; and
That no work as evidenced by any recorded inspection has commenced under such a
permit.

holder shall pay a fee of one hundred and three dollars ($103.00) to cover the cost of

. 3. Where there is a change of contractor or qualifier involving a permit, the second permit
transferring the data from the original permit to the second permit.
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. 4. A fee of $66.65 shall be paid by the permit holder who submits a written request for a
permit extension as authorized under Florida Building Code.

5. If work has commenced, and where a permit has become null and void pursuant to the
applicable Building Code(s), a credit of fifty percent (50%) of the original permit fee
shall be applied to any re-application fee for a permit covering the same project and
involving the same plans, provided the work in place and required to complete the
structure meets all applicable regulations in effect at the time the initial permit became
null and void and any regulations which may have become effective between the date of
expiration and the date of issuance of the new permit.

6. Where a permit has become null and void or expires pursuant to applicable Building
Code(s), and no work, as evidenced by one recorded inspection, has been made by the
department, a credit of fifty percent (50%) of the original permit fee covering the same
project and involving the same plans shall be given, provided that a complete
reapplication is submitted within six (6) months of the expiration date of the original
permit and provided that no refund has been made according to this section.

7. A fee of one hundred and fifty dollars $150.00 shall be charged to renew and close each
expired permit previously issued by Miami-Dade County, provided the applicant
submits to the City of Miami Gardens Building Official an affidavit from a registered

. architect or Engineer that satisfies the requirements of the Florida Building Code to
renew and close the expired permit, and that the affidavit includes evidence that the
construction was completed prior to March 1, 2002.

8. Where no permit was obtained, in accordance with the applicable Building Code(s), the

minimum permit fee for the trade shall apply to any new permit application.

5. SPECIAL PROJECTS

A fee equal to actual staff time and related costs shall be assessed for special projects
requiring research by the Department in order to answer questions proposed by
developers, attorneys, realtors, or municipalities, etc., in connection with the use, re-

. subdivision, and development of properties, or to determine if any existing violations are
on the property through a review of Departmental work. A minimum fee shall be
charged. A fee equal to two dollars and forty cents ($2.40) per page shall be assessed
for pre-programmed computer reports of Department records.

6. INSPECTIONS/PLAN REVIEWS REQUIRING OVERTIME
Charges for construction inspections or plan review, which are requested in advance and
- require overtime, will be at a rate of $83.30 per hour, or fraction thereof, and $133.35
per hour, or fraction thereof, on a holiday. Fees are over and above the original permit
fee.

7. ENFORCEMENT (Applicable to all trades)
Florida Statue 553.80 Enforcement

Plan Rework Fee, each review, per trade (See explanation below) $ 102.32
“Section 2(b) — With respect to evaluation of design professionals’ documents, if a local
government finds it necessary, in order to enforce compliance with the Florida Building
Code and issue a permit, to reject design documents required by the code three or more
times for failure to correct a code violation specifically and continuously noted in each
rejection, including but not limited to, egress fire protection, structural stability, energy
accessibility, lighting, ventilation, electrical, mechanical, plumbing and gas systems, or
other requirements identified by rule of the Florida Building Commission adopted pursuant
to Chapter 120, the local government shall impose, each time after the third such review the
plans are rejected for that code violation, a fee of four times the amount of the proportion of
the permit fee attributed to plans review.”
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10.

11.

Re-inspection Fee (See explanation below) $ 68.70
“Section 2(c) — With respect to inspections, if a local government finds it necessary, in order
to enforce compliance with the Florida Building Code, to conduct any inspection after an
initial inspection and one subsequent re-inspection of any project or activity for the same
code violation specifically and continuously noted in each rejection, including but not
limited to egress, fire protection, structural stability, energy, accessibility, lighting,
ventilation, electrical, mechanical, plumbing and gas systems, or other requirements
identified by rule of the Florida Building Commission adopted pursuant to Chapter 120, the
local government shall impose a fee of four times the amount of the fee imposed for the
initial inspection or first re-inspection, whichever is greater for each such subsequent re-
inspection.”

EXPEDITE PLAN REVIEW SERVICES

Permit applicants who request an alternate plan review service for an expedited review, to be
completed after normal working hours, will be assessed a fee. This fee shall be as follows:

Residential: $220.80 (first four hours)
$ 55.20 (each additional hour)

Commercial: $470.40 (first four hours)
$117.60 (each additional hour)

INTEREST CHARGES ON UNPAID AMOUNTS DUE TO THE CITY OF
MIAMI GARDENS BUILDING DEPARTMENT

The City of Miami Gardens Building Department is authorized to impose an interest charge
on any and all unpaid amounts which are due to the Department. This includes, without
limitation, items such as past due boiler fees, 40 year recertification fees, Civil Violation
fines and demolition costs. The City of Miami Gardens Building Department shall also have
the authority to charge interest as part of any settlement agreement of installment payment
plan to recover fees, fines or costs as well as outstanding liens.

The interest charged shall be assessed as provided for in applicable County Code provisions
or administrative orders. In all other cases, interest shall be charged from the date the
amount was due and payable to the Department computed at the rate of ten percent (10%)
per annum. The Department Director or designee shall have the right to waive all or any
portion of the interest charged in order to ensure public safety concerns are met.

ACTUAL COST FOR PROJECTS REQUIRING SERVICES NOT
CONTEMPLATED IN CURRENT FEE STRUCTURE

The Director, or designee, has the authority to invoice for reimbursement of actual costs on
project(s) requiring services not contemplated in the current fee structure.

The invoice will consist of actual labor cost, including any and all fringe benefit costs the
Department is legally obligated to pay. Additionally, the invoice will include any other
indirect cost associated with the actual labor cost, as determined by the City of Miami
Gardens Building Department’s Finance Section on a yearly basis.

All of this (these) project(s) will have mutually agreed on contract(s), which will be
maintained in the Finance Section. The Director will also have the ability to request a
deposit amount that is mutually acceptable to the Department and company or individual that
is legally responsible for the project(s). The deposit amount shall be used to offset the final
invoiced project cost; if any amount is remaining, it shall be returned to the party that
executed the agreement with the Department. The life span of the project(s) shall be
included in the agreement.

BUILDING PERMIT CANCELLATION $ 68.70
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12. PERMIT EXEMPTIONS

1.

EXEMPTIONS FROM BUILDING PERMIT BUT REQUIRE A ZONING

IMPROVEMENT PERMIT (ZIP):

Certain buildings, structures, improvements, and installations are exempted by the

Florida Building Code from building permit issuance, but must otherwise comply with

the minimum of this section. Therefore, such building structures, improvements, and

installations shall be subject to review under the Zoning Improvements Permits (ZIP)
standards contained in this section, as well as the regulations of the underlying zoning
district.

The following buildings, structures, improvements, and installations shall require a ZIP

from the Department of Planning and Zoning.

— Above ground pools that contain water less than twenty-four (24) inches deep;

- Agricultural/farm buildings and non-habitable structures on bona fide farms;

— Canopy carports, canopies and other fabric covered framework installed on
residential properties;

—  Chickee huts constructed by Miccosukee or Seminole Indians;

— Picket fences, ornamental iron fences and other fences installed on residential
property that are deemed non-wind resistant; provided, however, any pool safety
barrier fence and any fence with concrete columns shall require a building permit;

- Decorative reflective pools and fishponds that contain water less than twenty-four
(24) inches deep, that contain less than 250 square feet in area, and contain less
than 2,250 gallons in volume;

— Decorative garden-type water type fountains;

- Signs — balloon type;

- Signs — painted wall type;

— Signs — stick on letter type;

- Buildings and structures specifically regulated and preempted by the Federal
Government

— Temporary buildings or sheds used exclusively for construction purposes

— Mobile homes used as temporary offices, except that the provisions of the Florida
Building Code relating to accessibility by persons with disabilities shall apply to
such mobile homes.

— Paving and drainage

The Building Director shall have the authority to require a ZIP review for other buildings,
structures, improvements, and installations that are newly created or come about by changes
in the state or local building codes.

2.

BUILDING PERMIT EXEMPTIONS NOT REQUIRING A ZONING

IMPROVEMENT PERMIT (ZIP):

The following construction improvements do not require a building permit by the

Florida Building Code, or a Zoning Improvements Permit (ZIP). However, other

regulating agencies may require a permit.

- Surfacing of floors or slabs with carpet, tile, brick, wood, Chattahoochee.

- Kitchen cabinets, vanities or paneling installation inside residential units. Any
associated plumbing and electrical work may require a permit.

- Playground equipment (swings, slides, monkey bars, basketball hoops, doghouses
and pump covers) for residential use. All equipment

- Excavation of swales and drainage holding areas above the water table and in
compliance with the Department of Environmental Resources Management
(DERM) regulations.

— Ironwork for decorative purposes only (security bars and doors and railings require
a permit).

— Interior or exterior painting and roof painting (water tight coatings require a
permit).
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13.

14.

15.

1

1

6.

3.  MECHANICAL EXEMPTIONS RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL

PROPERTIES

The Florida Building Code Section 104.1 establishes the following permit exemptions

for mechanical work:

— Any portable heating appliance.

— Any portable ventilation equipment.

- Any portable cooling unit.

— Any steam, hot or chilled water piping within any heating or cooling equipment
regulated by this section.

- Replacement of any part which does not alter its approval or make it unsafe.

— Any portable evaporative cooler.

- Any self-contained refrigeration system containing 10lbs. (4.54 kg.) or less of
refrigerant and actuated by motors of 1 horsepower (746 W) or less.

— The installation, replacement, removal, or metering of any load management
control device.

TECHNOLOGY AND TRAINING FEE
A technology and training fee of 15% of the total Building permit fee shall be assessed
to each permit to enhance the City’s ability to provide state-of-the-art technology to its
Building Department customers.

REVISIONS
A fee of $72.20 per trade per hour for a minimum of one (1) hour will be applied for

revisions.

CERTIFICATES OF OCCUPANCY
1. Single Family Residence, Townhouse, Duplex (each unit), $ 63.00
Residential Attached
2. Apartments, Hotels, Multiple Family Uses

a. 2 to 50 Units $ 105.00
b. 51 to 100 Units $ 160.00
c. 101 and up Units $ 210.00
3. Commercial /Industrial
a. Per sq. ft. of Business Area $ 006
b. Minimum Fee $ 175.00
C. Maximum Fee $2,000.00
d. Occupancy without CO (In Violation) $ 500.00 fee plus double
CO fee
e. Temporary Certificate of Occupancy $ 50% of final CO fee for

90-day extensions per period. 100% final CO fee
EFFECTIVE DATE
This fee schedule shall be effective March 1, 2008.

AMMENDMENTS TO BUILDING PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
Each building permit fee shall be increased annually by 5% effective October 1 of each
year.
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BUILDING PERMIT FEES

“UP-FRONT” PROCESSING FEE (non-refundable)
When the building permit application is received, the applicant shall pay an “Up-Front”
processing fee equal to thirty percent (30%o) of the permit fee.

MINIMUM FEE FOR BUILDING PERMITS
a. Residential Minimum Fee $ 7220
b. Commercial Minimum Fee $ 200.00

NEW BUILDINGS AND/OR ADDITIONS - RESIDENTIAL
New and/or additions for Single Family Residence and Duplex includes permit fees for
all trades (General Electric, Mechanical, Plumbing, “all others require permit w/fee”)

a. 0—-300 S/F $ 489.00
b. 301 — 650 S/F $ 610.00
C. 651 — or above $ 0.97/SF

ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS - RESIDENTIAL (per $1.00 of
construction value)

a. Single Family Residence and Duplex $ .055

b. Minimum Fee $ 7220

c. Maximum Fee $1,500.00

d. Shade Houses per 100 S/F or fractional part of floor area $ 0.36
TENTS

Electrical and plumbing separate $ 185.00

NEW CONSTRUCTION/ADDITIONS - COMMERCIAL
New and/or additions for Commercial includes permit fees for all trades $ 1.55/SF
(General Electric, Mechanical, Plumbing, “all others require permit w/fee”)

ALTERATION AND/OR REPAIRS - COMMERCIAL $ .03
Per $1.00 of construction value If square footage is provided, the
construction value will be based on a cost of $113/SF or the value provided
by the permit applicant, whichever is higher. If no square footage is
provided, the construction value will be based on the value provided by the
permit applicant.

8. SLAB AND DRIVEWAYS
a. Asphalt Driveway $ 7220
b. Pavers Driveway $ 7220
c. Cast Concrete Driveway $ 7220
. d. Slabs only $ 7220
e. Approach only $ 7220
f.  Sidewalk only $ 7220
g. Approach and Sidewalk $ 133.30

9. ROOFING/RE-ROOFING
a.  Minimum fee $ 126.00
. b. Roofing Flat/Shingle per S/F $ 010
c. Roofing Tile and Metal Roof per S/F $ 0.13
d. Lightweight Insulating Concrete Flat Fee $ 1550

10. FENCES AND/OR WALLS

a.  Minimum Fee $ 111.10
- b. 0-500 linear ft. $ 111.10
c. each additional 500 linear ft. or fractional part thereof $ 111.10
d. Masonry and/or Ornamental Iron each linear ft. $ 1.25
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SWIMMING POOLS, SPAS, AND HOT TUBS
Installation of swimming pool/spa — includes permit fees for all trades $ 683.00
Pools, Spa, Deck, Hot tubs

TEMPORARY PLATFORMS AND TEMPORARY BLEACHERS TO BE
USED FOR PUBLIC ASSEMBLY

a. Per platform $ 7220

b. Per bleacher $ 7220
DEMOLITION OF BUILDINGS

For each structure $ 310.00

INSTALLATION OR REPLACEMENT OF WINDOWS OR DOORS,
ORNAMENTAL IRON BARS/SAFETY BARS, SHUTTERS

a. For the first installation, alteration or repair (except new construction) $ 44.40

b. Each additional installation $ 5.00
SCREEN ENCLOSURES, CANOPIES & AWNINGS

a. Screen enclosures $ 210.00

b. Detached canopies (each) $ 210.00

c.  Awnings and Attached Canopies $ 210.00

TEMP. TRAILER (FOR CONSTRUCTION)
Tie Down Inspection Fee (This does not include installation of meter $ 262.75
mounts and service equipment. Separate mechanical, plumbing and related
electrical permits are required).

SIGN PERMIT FEES
a. Fee per sign $ 210.00
b. If applicable, electrical sign fee per sign $ 210.00

CHICKEE HUTS
Constructed by other than Miccosukee Tribe of Indians or Seminole Tribe $ 210.00
of Florida
Fee plus electrical & plumbing when applicable

GUTTERS $ 7220

PARKING LOTS

a. Per lot or re-paving $ 183.00

b. Re-striping existing lot (Separate for electrical & plumbing if $ 120.00
applicable)

FLAG POLES No Charge

WALK-IN COOLER
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C. SHOP DRAWING REVIEW

1. TRUSSES / STEEL STRUCTURES
a. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 1752
. b. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof (Affidavit Review/Inspection $ 5.29
Process)
c. Each additional 100 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 0.90
2. PRECAST / PRESTRESS (Roof — Floor — Walls)
. Each 1000 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 894
3. OVERHEAD DOORS
. Fee per door $ 894
4, SKYLIGHTS
. Fee per skylight $ 894
5. HAND RAILS / STAIR RAILS
. Fee per linear ft. $ 124
6. STOREFRONT / FIXED GLAZING (under 8 ft. high by 4 ft. wide)
. Per 100 S/F or fractional par thereof $ 972
7. WALK-IN COOLERS
. Fee per walk-in cooler $ 8244
8. LAMINATED WOOD BEAM
a. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 1752
. b. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof (Affidavit Review/Inspection $ 5.29
Process)
¢. Each additional 100 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 0.90
9. POST TENSIONING
a. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 1752
. b. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof (Affidavit Review/Inspection $ 5.29
Process)
¢. Each additional 100 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 0.90
10. STRUCTURAL STEEL, WALLS, ROOFS
a. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 1752
- b. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof (Affidavit Review/Inspection $ 5.29
Process)
c. Each additional 100 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 0.90
11. EXTERIOR DOORS
- Fee per door $ 894
12. GLASS BLOCK (Installation, Alteration, Repair)
- Per S/F of window or door area $ 0.067
13. TILT UP WALLS
- Each 1,000 S/F or fractional part thereof $ 894
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POST TENT (DETAILS/CALCULATIONS)
Each 1,000 S/F or fractional part thereof

JOISTS
Each 1,000 S/F or fractional part thereof

STAIRS
Per linear ft

COMPOSITE SLAB SYSTEMS
a. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof

b. First 600 S/F or fractional part thereof (Affidavit Review/Inspection

C.

Process)
Each additional 100 S/F or fractional part thereof
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PLUMBING PERMIT FEES

MINIMUM PLUMBING OR GAS FEE PER PERMIT
a. Residential Minimum Fee $ 7220
b. Commercial Minimum Fee $ 200.00
Except as otherwise specified

ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - RESIDENTIAL
a. Single Family Residence and Duplex (Per $1.00 of construction $ .055

value)
b. Minimum Fee $ 7220
¢. Maximum Fee $ 1,500.00
ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - COMMERCIAL
Per $1.00 of construction value , If square footage is provided, the $ .02

construction value will be based on a cost of $113/SF or the value provided
by the permit applicant, whichever is higher. If no square footage is
provided, the construction value will be based on the value provided by the
permit applicant.

SETTLING TANKS, GAS AND OIL INTERCEPTORS, AND GREASE
TRAPS
(Including drain tile and relay for same Residential and Commercial) $ 7220

SEWER
a. Each building storm sewer and each building sewer where connectionis $ 72.20
made to a septic tank, or a collector line or to an existing sewer or to a
city Sewer or soakage pit or to a building drain outside a building
b. Sewer Capping/Demolition $ 7220

WATER PIPING

a. lIrrigation system and underground sprinkler system for each zone $ 2324

b. Water service connection to a municipal or private water supply system $  72.20
(for each meter on each lot)

c. Swimming Pool Heater Replacement or New Installation $ 7220

d. Swimming Pool Repair $ 7220

e. 2” or less water service backflow assembly $ 8330

f. 2 %" or larger water service backflow assembly $ 166.65

g. Solar water heater installation, equipment replacement or repair $ 166.65

h. Replace Solar Panel or New Installation $ 166.65

WELLS
a. Residential wells per well $ 7220
b. Commercial wells per well $ 111.10
NATURAL GAS OR A LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM

a. Minimum fee $ 7220

b. For each meter (new or replacement) $ 8.24

c. For each outlet (includes meter and regulator) (Commercial) $ 16.65

d. For each appliance (Commercial) (does not include warm air heating $  16.65
units, but does include un-vented space)

e. For major repairs to gas pipe where no fixture or appliance installation $  48.07
is involved per repair

f.  Underground L.P. gas tanks per group of tanks at a single location $ 7220
Above ground L.P. gas tanks per group of tanks at a single location $ 7220
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WATER TREATMENT PLANTS, PUMPING STATIONS, SEWER
TREATMENTS AND LIFT STATIONS

a. Water treatment plant (interior plant piping) $ 28843

b. Sewage treatment plant (interior plant piping) $ 205.74

c. Lift station (interior station piping) $ 329.78

d. Sewage ejector $ 96.15
WATER AND GAS MAINS (ALL GROUPS)

a.  Minimum fee $ 111.10

b. Each 10 feet or part thereof $ 16.65
STORM/SANITARY UTILITY/COLLECTOR LINES FOR BUILDING
DRAIN LINES

a. Minimum fee $ 111.10

b. Each 10 feet or part thereof $ 16.65
MANHOLE OR CATCH BASIN

a. Minimum fee $ 111.10

b. Each manhole or catch basin $ 27.75
TEMPORARY TOILETS-WATERBORNE OR CHEMICAL

a. First temporary toilet $ 7220

b. Renewal of temporary toilet — same charge as original permit $ 7220

c. For each additional toilet $ 16.65
DENTAL VACUUM LINES

Each system $ 38.90
MEDICAL GAS

a. Minimum fee $ 111.10

b. Installation, per $1000 of construction value $ 16.65

c. Solar Water Heater each installation $ 137.40

PLUMBING NEW CONSTRUCTION
All general plumbing permit fees are included under to Master Permit the
following are the exceptions:

Backflow Preventors

Interceptors (grease, oil, sand, etc.)

Irrigation

Lift Stations

Medical Gas (compressed air, nitrous oxide, vacuum lines, etc.)

Natural/LP Gas

Septic Tank and Drainfield

Site Work (sanitary manholes, catch basins, sewer lines and/or

water lines)

Wells for potable or irrigation

S@ o a0 o
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ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES

MINIMUM ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEE INCLUDING REPAIR
WORK PER PERMIT

a. Residential Minimum Fee

b. Commercial Minimum Fee
Except as otherwise specified

ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - RESIDENTIAL
1. Single Family Residence and Duplex (Per $1.00 of construction value)
a. Minimum Fee
b. Maximum Fee

ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - COMMERCIAL
Per $1.00 of construction value If square footage is provided, the
construction value will be based on a cost of $ 113/SF or the value
provided by the permit applicant, whichever is higher. If no square
footage is provided, the construction value will be based on the value
provided by the permit applicant.

PERMANENT SERVICE TO BUILDING
This fee shall be charged for total amperage of service) For each 100 amp
or fractional part

TEMPORARY SERVICE FOR CONSTRUCTION
Per service

CONSTRUCTION FIELD OFFICE SERVICE
Per service

Service or Panel Repair

Reconnect Meter

Agricultural Service

Mobile Home or RV Service

Free Standing Service

FEEDERS
a. (Include feeders to panels, M.C.C switchboards, elevators, etc.) Each
Feeder
b. Generators, Automatic Transfer Switches Per 10 KW

TEMPORARY SERVICE TEST
a. Equipment and service (30 day limit) per service
b. Elevator (180 day limit) per elevator
c. Free Standing Service - New meter and service (requires processing)
per service Includes lift stations, sprinkler systems, street lighting,
parking lots, etc. that require new service with separate meter.

FIRE DETECTION SYSTEM
a. Minimum Fee
b. Includes fire alarm system, halon, etc. Does not include single 110 volt
residential detectors.
c. Repairs and additions to existing systems per system/floor

BURGLAR ALARM SYSTEM
a. Complete system
b. Repair per system

o oo0oe
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INTERCOM SYSTEM
Each new system $ 123.66

ENERGY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

a. Per floor $ 144.26

b. Repair per floor $ 8244
CLOSED CIRCUIT TV

Per system $ 123.66
VACUUM SYSTEM

Per system $ 7220
SECURITY SYSTEM (card reader)

Per system $ 123.66

TEMPORARY WORK ON CIRCUSES, CARNIVALS, FAIRS, CHRISTMAS
TREE LOTS, FIREWORKS, TENTS, ETC.
Per ride or structure $ 68.70

GROUND WIRE FOR SCREEN BONDING

Per installation $ 8244
CONDUIT
Duct bank- Per Linear Foot (residential/commercial) $ 2.48

SOLAR PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEM
Per system $ 123.00

PHONE & DATA SYSTEM
Per system $ 123.00

SMART HOUSE SYSTEM
Per system $ 123.00

ELECTRICAL NEW CONSTRUCTION
All general electrical permit fees are included under to Master Permit the
following are the exceptions:
a. Burglar Alarms
b. Fire Alarms
c. Freestanding Services
d. Temporary for Construction
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MECHANICAL PERMIT FEES
MINIMUM MECHANICAL PERMIT FEE

a. Residential Minimum Fee $ 7220
b. Commercial Minimum Fee $ 200.00
Except as otherwise specified
ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - RESIDENTIAL
a. Single Family Residence and Duplex (Per $1.00 of construction value)  $ .055
b. Minimum Fee $ 7220
c. Maximum Fee $1,500.00
ALTERATIONS/REPAIRS/ADDITIONS - COMMERCIAL
Per $1.00 of construction value, If square footage is provided, the $ .02

construction value will be based on a cost of $113/SF or the value provided
by the permit applicant, whichever is higher. If no square footage is
provided, the construction value will be based on the value provided by the
permit applicant.

A/C & REFRIGERATION INCLUDING REPLACEMENT, RELOCATION

OF EQUIPMENT, & NEW INSTALLATION (WITHOUT MASTER
PERMIT)

a. TONS each

b. KW each

c. Drains each

@ H H

STORAGE TANKS FOR FLAMMABLE LIQUIDS
Per tank $

21.00
4.20
6.30

205.74

FURNACE & HEATING EQUIPMENT, INCLUDING COMMERCIAL DRYERS,
OVENS & OTHER FIRED OBJECTS NOT ELSEWHERE CLASSIFIED. (WITHOUT

MASTER PERMIT)
KW each $

INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINES
Stationary — each $

COMMERCIAL KITCHEN HOODS

Each $
OTHER FEES
a. Fire chemical halon and spray booths for each system $

b. Insulation, pneumatic tube, conveyor systems, pressure and process $
piping, sheet metal or fiberglass air conditioning ducts, cooling towers,
Mechanical ventilation

c. For each $1,000 or fractional part of contract cost $
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4.20

102.87

166.65

191.55
111.10

15.80



10. BOILERS AND PRESSURE VESSELS

1. FEES FOR NEW INSTALLATION OR REPLACEMENT

~®o0 T

Boilers less than 837 MBTU — each

Boilers 837 MBTU to 6695 MBTU — each

Boilers 6695 MBTU and up — each

Steam driven prime movers — each

Steam actuated machinery — each

Unfired pressure vessels (operating at pressures in excess of 60
PSI and having volume of more than 5 cu. ft.) each pressure
vessel

11. 2. FEES FOR PERIODIC RE-INSPECTIONS

f.

Po0 o

Steam boilers (annual) - each

Hot water boilers (annual) — each

Unfired pressure vessels (annual) — each

Miniature boilers (annual) — each

Certificate of inspection (where inspected by insurance
company) — each

Shop inspection of boiler or pressure vessels per completed
vessels

12. MECHANICAL NEW CONSTRUCTION
- All mechanical permit fees are included under to Master Permit.
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105.00
157.65
226.00
105.00
105.00
105.00

105.00
105.00
105.00
105.00
105.00

105.00



COPIES OF DEPARTMENTAL RECORDS

a. Plan reproductions from microfilm — per sheet $ 5.00
b. Reproduced records — per page $ 0.15
c. Double sided copies — per page $ 0.25
d. Certified copies — per page $ 1.00
e. Notary public service — per document $ 1.00

Forty-Year Re-Certification Program Fees
1. There shall be a three hundred dollar ($300.00) fee per building, for every Forty
Year Building re-certification program application and each preceding Ten Year re-
certification application as required under the Miami-Dade County Code Chapter 8.
2. There shall be a fifty dollar ($50.00) extension fee for every application for
subsequent Ten Year re-certification program applications.

Structural Glazing Systems Re-Certification Fees
There shall be a two hundred and eighty three dollars and forty six cents ($283.46) fee
for the initial application for structural glazing Re-certification and each subsequent
application under the Miami-Dade County Code Chapter 8.

Annual Facility Permits Fees

In accordance with provisions of the Florida Building Code and the Miami-Dade County
Code Chapter 10, each firm or organization in the City of Miami Gardens which performs its
own maintenance work with certified maintenance personnel in Factory-Industrial (Group F)
Facilities, as well as helpers there under, may pay to City of Miami Gardens an annual
Master and Subsidiary Facility Permit (Premise Permit) - fee in lieu of other fees for
maintenance work. Such fee shall be paid to the Building Department and such permit shall
be renewed annually at a fee which is calculated in accordance with the provisions of this
sub-section.

a. Master Facility Permit Fee (multiply number of employees by fee) $ 57.25
b. Minimum Master Facility Permit fee $1,081.94
c. Subsidiary Facility Permit Fee (multiply number of employees by fee) $ 57.25

d. Minimum Subsidiary Facility Permit fee $ 303.40

Prior to each Facility Permit's expiration, the holder will be sent a renewal notice to continue
the Premise Permit for the next renewal period. The fee will be the same as the original
Facility Permit Fee. No allowance shall be made for late renewal fees or part year renewal
fees.

Soil Improvement/Land Clearing Permit Fees
1. Soil improvement permits are used to clear, de-muck and fill
undeveloped land.
a. Residential - per lot $ 150.00
b. Commercial - per acre $1,000.00

Page 19



Intentionally Left Blank

Page 20



